Promotion for Football

Explained: Why Dasun Shanaka Was Ruled Not Out Despite Being Run Out in the Super Over Against India

Dasun Shanaka’s controversial run-out became the biggest talking point of the thrilling India vs Sri Lanka clash in the Asia Cup 2025.

The two teams produced what many are calling the best match of the tournament at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. In the final Super Four encounter, both sides finished with identical scores of 202/5, pushing the contest into a dramatic Super Over where India eventually prevailed.

The Super Over itself wasn’t short of drama. Batting first, Sri Lanka saw skipper Dasun Shanaka involved in a controversial moment. Arshdeep Singh bowled a wide yorker that Dasun Shanaka missed, but he immediately set off for a run. Wicketkeeper Sanju Samson reacted quickly, hitting the stumps with a direct throw as Dasun Shanaka fell well short of his crease. Indian players began celebrating, assuming he was out.

However, the umpires called Shanaka back. The twist came because Arshdeep had simultaneously appealed for a caught behind, which took precedence over the run-out. Dasun Shanaka opted for DRS, and third umpire Masudur Rahman confirmed there was no edge. With the caught-behind appeal overturned, the run-out was not considered, and Shanaka was given not out—leaving the Indians fuming.

Why Dasun Shanaka Was Not Given Out on the Run-Out in the Super Over Against India

According to MCC law, “the ball is considered dead from the moment of the incident causing the dismissal.” In Dasun Shanaka’s case, the key incident was the caught-behind appeal. Since the appeal occurred first, the ball was already dead when Riyan Samson ran him out, meaning Shanaka could not be given out for the run-out.

Fortunately for India, this didn’t have a major impact, as Shanaka was dismissed on the very next delivery. Sri Lanka managed only two runs in the Super Over, which India chased on the first ball, finishing the league and Super Four stage of Asia Cup 2025 undefeated.

Sri Lanka head coach Sanath Jayasuriya shared his thoughts on the controversy:

“According to the rules, if there’s a catch appeal, Dasun could be sent to the third umpire. The first decision always takes precedence, not the second. So he went for the referral, and it was not out. That’s what happened. Overall, I think there are still some grey areas in the rules that the officials need to fine-tune a bit.”

Sign Up Fast For E2bet And Enjoy A Free Bonus On Your First Registration

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top